Too Much To Do

It’s been a few days since my last post. I haven’t had the time, the energy, or the ideas to write. I don’t have much else in the way of ideas today. I’ve just got too much going on to come up with anecdotes. Is it just me or does this time of year breed more anxiety to get the house in order?

As if thoughts of spring cleaning aren’t enough, our landscaper has decided he no longer wants to be in business. So, now I need to find a new landscaper. Our big house project for this year is getting our basement finished. So, this weekend we need to find some contractors to call and start making appointments for estimates and design ideas. I’m sure we’ll be busy for months making decisions, getting permits, and doing inspections. I still need to find some lamps for the family room and I really need curtains for the living and dining room. And that is just the tip of the iceberg.

As for spring cleaning, well I just need to get to all the things that I haven’t done since we moved here two and a half years ago. I still have some boxes in the basement that I need to go through and either purge or find homes for. I have stuff shoved in closets that I keep swearing I’ll get cleaned out. And of course, there are my never ending piles of magazines and papers that are growing on the kitchen desk and on my side of the office desk.

Here’s my problem – I’m a procrastinator. And a paper horder. And one of those people who usually has a great memory but no sense of physical organization. Plus, although I’ve never been officially diagnosed I think I may have attention deficit disorder. I start one thing and can’t get through it before I’m pulling something else apart.

So, if anyone has the number to Julie Morgenstern please pass it along. I could use her help.

This entry was posted in General, Household. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Too Much To Do

  1. Kadri says:

    Re: getting the house in order. I have been going through the same thing! As soon as my house guests left from New Year’s, the very next weekend I painted two bathroom walls. I have an excellent painter who takes care of the big projects, but I had the the right paint left over and based on what my color designer recommended I tackled two walls (something I’d been meaning to do for over a year!) Then I organized 3 closets and put things in order that I had been wanting to get to since we moved here 2 years ago- like you. I also came up with some other great decorating ideas before running out of steam to actually do anything about them such getting a wall mural for the playroom. What do you think of this? http://www.wideimages.com/NewFiles/main_page.html
    Of course, much cheaper just to paint, but not as fun 🙂

    Happy organizing and good luck finding those contractors. If you lived closer I’d recommend my landscaper who is excellent! 🙂

Leave a Reply

