Tears for Anthony

Tonight I listened in horror to a story on Fox News about a four year old child on life support who is now brain dead. The little boy’s name is Anthony and he was beaten about the head with a belt buckle by his stepfather. I feel like someone has punched me in the gut and ripped out my heart. I’ve been crying for almost an hour. I will never understand how someone can hurt a child.

How does a person bring themselves to not only hit a child but to hit them again and again until the child is unresponsive? How can a person stand the look of terror that must cross that child’s face and to hear the sound of their cries? What could a small child possibly do that would bring forth such hate and violence in a grown person? Please tell me how God can let this happen? This is a horrible thing to say but I pray that the first blow to Anthony knocked him out and that he felt no pain. I pray this poor baby didn’t suffer. I pray that Heaven will give him all the love and gentleness he should have gotten here on Earth.

Child abuse has always bothered me but now that I’m a mother these stories hit me even harder. I look at my own child and think of someone hurting him. The anger fills me and the brutality of it sickens me. I know how much my son trusts me and relies on me. I know his innocence and his cute, carefree ways. I imagine the other children being this way too. I imagine how hurt they must be to have the person they love, trust, and rely on betray them. I imagine their fear and their pain.

I ask God to make child abuse stop. I ask him to give me answers to help end it. I pray to him that no one ever hurts my child. But I can’t help feel as if all the children in the world are my children and need my prayers and my love and my protection. I ask myself what can I do to make sure this doesn’t happen again to another child. But mostly tonight I just pray for little Anthony and apologize to him that no one was there to protect him when he needed it most.

This entry was posted in child abuse, God, Motherhood, news. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

