Simple Pleasures

You know how sometimes it’s the small things in life that are so satisfying.  Today I had one of those moments.  For lunch I made some jasmine rice.  We don’t eat  lot of white rice in this house because Big has a cholestoral problem and he lost 45 pounds and is now trying to loose as much body fat as he can so he looks “cut.”  We had these leftover spareribs and I didn’t want to throw yet another morsel of uneaten food away.  So, I thought, “Jeez wouldn’t rice go nicely with this.”  Even though I should be the one who abstains from all things white I couldn’t resist.  So, I pulled out the rice cooker and made me some good rice.  For those of you that have only experienced the kind of rice that comes in a box and takes minutes to prepare you’re missing out.  Get thee to a store that has an ethnic food aisle and buy some jasmine rice.  Get a rice cooker and experience how rice should really taste and smell.  MMM-mmm.

This entry was posted in Food, General, Pleasures. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Simple Pleasures

  1. Just hearing you talk about it made me want to eat some jasmine rice! And you’re right…nothing can top a good rice cooker meal 🙂

Leave a Reply

