Radio Control

In the words of Leo from The Little Einsteins, “I cannot believe it!”  My child is not even two and already he is telling me what to play on the car radio.  We spent most of the day running errands and Shorty spent most of our time in the car yelling, “No, not this song!”  So, I spent a good deal of time changing stations.  It was either that or listen to an all out tantrum every time he didn’t like my choice of music.

How exactly does this happen?  I remember dictating to my mom and dad what station to play in the car but I was much older than two when I was making these demands.  Is it normal for a two year old to have a preference in music?  Shorty has always had certain songs that he likes over others but this demanding that the station be changed until he hears one he likes is a bit much, don’t ya think?  It’s not bad enough that Big controls the radio when we drive but now I’m taking orders from a toddler in my own damn car.  Me thinks I’m gonna have to start introducing Shorty to my kind of music more often and hope that he takes a liking to it.  Until then I guess I will be putting up with more, “No, not that song,”  until he finds one he likes and happily says, “Yeah, this one.”

This entry was posted in Changes, Children, Family, Motherhood, Music, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Radio Control

  1. Suebob says:

    The driver gets to pick the music. Period. When he learns to drive you around, he gets to choose.

  2. I had to just stop listening to music in the car when Sam got to be that age. I still don’t even think to turn it on anymore. Very sad, because I loved listening when I drove, but it was so not worth it!

  3. Crissy says:

    It’s Quincy (not Loe) that says, “I cannot believe it!” – It’s a favorite saying in our house too!

    Last year we had to have the iPod in the car all the time to play the same song over and over and over and over again. I know all the words to “Beyond the Sea” from Finding Nemo. Good thing I love to sing!

Leave a Reply

