It Happened Sooner Than I Thought

It’s official.  I’m a soccer mom.  Well, maybe only half a soccer mom as I still don’t have a minivan.  Yesterday we signed Shorty up for a Lil Kickers program at a local sports facility.  Granted it’s not like he’s going to be playing organized soccer games at two years of age but it’s a start.

Really this class is more like a fun filled romper room environment where little kids are encouraged to kick the ball and learn some listening and balancing skills.  Many of the activities they do won’t even involve a ball.  We signed him up in the hopes that it would burn off some of his endless energy and help get him more socialized with other children.

Since Shorty is home all day with me and Big and I are not the most socially active people we felt we needed to help get Shorty used to being in a group environment.  Big grew up playing soccer and has on occasion, when his schedule and his back allows, joined adult soccer leagues.  Unfortunately, the Saturday classes were already filled by the time we got there so we signed Shorty up for a weekday class.  We’ll sign him up again for the winter program if he likes this and hopefully we’ll know far enough in advance to be able to get a Saturday class so Big and Shorty can enjoy this activity together. 

I also signed him up for a Kindermusik program.  Shorty loves to sing.  He easily learns the words to not only children’s songs but also songs he likes on the radio.  Right now he sings Avril Lavigne’s “Keep Holding On.”  So, I’m hoping Kindermusik will be something he’ll find fun and will give me another group activity in which he can be around other kids, I can meet other moms, and it gives me a break from coming up with the entertainment ideas.

My kid now has a better social calendar then I do.  I’ll let you know how things go with the Lil Kickers and the Kindermusik.

This entry was posted in Children, Family, Fun, Music, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

