And Then Some Days All Goes Well

Yesterday I wrote about my doubts and insecurities regarding motherhood.  I’d like to thank the moms who reached out to me and assured me that Shorty was acting like a normal toddler.  With their comments in mind we headed off to our first Lil Kickers class this morning.

It was like the heavens knew I needed to have things go smoothly today to remind me that sometimes I do have this whole mothering thing under control (or at least as under control as toddlers will allow).  We woke up on time.  Shorty woke up in a good mood and easily got dressed.  I actually had time to make him eggs which he actually ate along with a banana muffin.  I was even able to have a bowl of cereal myself.  Wonders of wonders we got out the door in plenty of time and made it the sports complex early.

While we were waiting for everyone to arrive the coach let the kids run around the field and kick soccer balls.  I was a bit nervous at first because it looked like all the other kids were older than Shorty.  Turns out that some of them were just big kids and Shorty is little so it was more a size issue than an age difference.  I also got a little nervous when Shorty was balking at sitting in a circle so we could introduce the kids to the coach.  He was trying to run away from me and was screaming.  I tried to keep him under control until it was our turn then I took him out of the circle and quietly asked him if he wanted to leave.  He said, “No,” so I calmly explained that if he wanted to stay that he had to listen to the coach and wait for her to tell us what to do.  After that all went smoothly.

Coach Lauren was fabulous.  She is very patient with the kids and her class is fun and filled with age appropriate activities.  My out of shape body got a bit of a workout running around the field but Shorty and I had lots of fun.  I’m very happy my friend told us about this class and happy that Big encouraged me to sign Shorty up even after the Saturday classes got filled.  By the end of the 40 minutes Shorty had pretty much gotten the hang of following directions and he really loved helping Coach Lauren clean up all the balloons and cones.  He also really liked the parachute games.

Thanks to the moms who gave me encouragement yesterday, I was able to help put another mom’s fears to rest.  Her little boy is the youngest in the class and she wasn’t sure that he was ready for this class because he wasn’t really following the program.  Both Coach Lauren and I told her it was no big deal and that what he was doing was normal.  Coach Lauren told her to hang in there because a lot of kids start out that way and by the time the ten weeks is over they get the whole concept.

Like yesterday Shorty was tired after class and he took a good nap today, although at least he waited until after lunch today.  So, I’m really looking forward to the next nine weeks of our Lil Kickers class.  I think this and Kindermusik will be a good change of pace for both Shorty and me.  I’m hoping that more of our days go as well as this one did.

This entry was posted in Children, Fun, Games, Motherhood, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And Then Some Days All Goes Well

  1. faemom says:

    I’m glad to hear things went well in the soccor class. Maybe he just needs an active activity. My sons are like that, so we take a rythm class.

Leave a Reply

