Slacker Mom

So, right now my plan was to be shopping at the Outlets in Lancaster.  I still haven’t finished shopping for Shorty or my fall/winter wardrobe.  The alarm was set for 7:00am.  I had it all worked out.  So, now I sit here asking myself why I’m not out of the house at 11:33am.

Well, for starters we never got out of bed until 9:00.  I washed a load of towels and folded another load that was in the dryer.  Right now I’m washing dish towels.  Breakfast didn’t happen until 10:00.  I’m reading blogs and typing this while I drink coffee.  Shorty is looking through toy catalogs so I can enjoy my coffee and blogging time.  (Oh, wait the reading has stopped.  He’s now throwing them and whining.  Sigh.  I’m going to ignore it and hope it stops without intervention.)

We’re not even dressed.  I’m failing miserably with my plan to shop.  My original plan was to shop yesterday without Shorty, but then Big wanted us to go to a late breakfast at Cracker Barrel and he had to leave later that day for a trip.  I would have had all this done if every weekend for the past, oh three months, hadn’t been consumed with birthdays and errands for the damn basement.  I hate to shop.  I’m not a good shopper.  I’m indecisive and picky.  I am not good at guessing sizes so I end up buying wrong sizes for Shorty on the first try and having to return them.  It wouldn’t be so bad if all the manufacturers used the same sizing patterns.  Unfortunately, Gap clothes fit him one way, Children’s Place another, Gymboree a third way, and Carter’s a fourth.  I finally have him figured out.

But here I sit.  Typing this blog.  Drinking my coffee while Shorty now plasters himself with Cars stickers. 

Now I’m yelling at Shorty because he is bored and trying to get my attention by doing everything he knows he shouldn’t be doing.  So, I guess I’ll wrap up this pointless post about my slacker ways.  Maybe I should finish this coffee now and get us dressed so we can eat lunch and go outside before things get really ugly and out of control.

I should have just gotten up early and done the dreaded shopping thing.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Children, Complaints, Family, Motherhood, Shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slacker Mom

  1. faemom says:

    Everyone needs a good slacker day. Every once in a while I declare an underwear/diaper day; but now it’s fall . . .

  2. Sometimes is just has to happen. But at least you can recognize when things are about to get terribly out of hand. I often ignore the signals and things spiral downward so quickly I can’t get us out of the house.

Leave a Reply

