Shorty and His Moments

Shorty is doing his best to make me second guess my parenting abilities.  This last week he did everything he could to make life as challenging as possible.  It started Thursday with Kindermusik.  We arrived late.  (My fault not his.)  Upon arrival we found one of the little boys in his class sitting on the benches outside the room.  His mother was begging him to enter the room.  It was a no go and within minutes she gave up and put him back in the car and headed home.  So, what did Shorty do?  He decided that sitting on the bench seemed like a fine idea.  I must have chased him down and brought him back to the room at least five times.  When he did stay in the room he showed no interest in anything Miss Joan was doing.  Instead he was fixated on her iPod and the play toaster she had behind her.  After 15-20 minutes of trying to keep his hands off the things he shouldn’t be touching or chasing him in the lobby we also packed up and headed home.  My apologies to Miss Joan and the other kids and mommies for our abrupt exit.

Friday was Lil Kickers.   Shorty refused to sit in the circle at the beginning of class.  So while the coach rolled the ball to the other kids and had them roll it back after saying their names Shorty was running all around the field doing his own thing.  In fact he did very little of what he was supposed to do that day.  He thought it more fun to act like a crazy man.  He even threw a few tantrums when I tried to get him to join in the activity of the moment.  He did, however, manage to impress a few of the moms with his flexibility.  During one of his tantrums he threw his head back so far he almost touched his feet to the back of his head.  One mom joked that he must go to yoga class with me.  (As if I would be doing any class for myself that involved exercise.)  At least his tantrums made others laugh.  I was just feeling frustrated by it.

Saturday he managed to embarrass Big and me in front of Big’s sister and her husband by taking off his shoe in a restaurant and throwing it across the table and knocking over a full glass of soda.  He thought that was hilarious.  I know Big and I felt like killing him and I don’t think my brother-in-law was too impressed either.

Yesterday he created more insanity during dinner.  We had one of Big’s co-workers/friends over.  During dinner Shorty managed to throw his fork and his bib at this poor man.  We were mortified and apologized profusely.  If this man never wants to return to our home I can’t say I will blame him.

Shorty’s behavior lately has had me almost in tears.  I don’t know if I’m doing something wrong as a parent, if he’s going through a phase, or if I really should start talking to the pediatrician about some of this.  He does not listen AT ALL.  My child also can not seem to settle himself down.  He is always into everything.  I can’t turn my back for a second.  And trying to get a quiet moment is next to impossible.  I hate to say this but some days my child is that kid that I’m sure others are thinking needs a good swift kick in the ass or are thanking their lucky stars isn’t their kid.  Some days I’m so exhausted by it all that I amost wish he weren’t my kid.  Well, not really but I do wish he didn’t act like this.

I’m almost at my wits end and really am not sure what to do.  I’m hoping this is all just a phase but I’m not so sure it is.  In the meantime, I’m trying to find new and creative ways to get the undesirable behavior to stop.  If all else fails then maybe you all can nominate our family to the SuperNanny so she can come and videotape our worst moments and show us the error of our ways.  In fact, I’m begging you.  Please nominate us.  Maybe she can help me create a routine and some structure as well as make Shorty behave like the angel that he looks to be.

This entry was posted in Children, Complaints, Family, Mommy Worry, Motherhood, Parenting, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shorty and His Moments

  1. faemom says:

    How horrible! First off, it’s a phase. He’s testing you. My boys do the same exact thing. They’ll be angels for weeks, and then they melt down, and yes, it’s ALWAYS in front of people. My suggestion is you and Big set some ground rules and decide on a discipline technique. Then have at it. Of course, this is SO much easier said then done. Like how my little one is throwing temper tantrums and crying over everything, and I don’t want to discipline him because he’s only 17 months. But it’s crazy. If Evan throws a tantrum, he goes to his room to throw it or I make a place if we’re in public. If he misbehaves at a restuarant, he is removed and talked to, but we do eat a lot faster than we used to. Just remember Shorty is trying to learn the rules. Good luck!
    P.S. I hope I didn’t sound preachy

  2. Pingback: What a Difference A Day Makes « Incognito Mom

Leave a Reply

