A Few Things To Be Grateful For

I do a lot of whining and complaining so today I thought I would take a moment to share something for which I feel grateful.  I love my house and its location.  Everyday I am blessed to see some of life’s most beautiful scenes.

This morning Big and I looked out our kitchen window and saw several deer lying by the edge of the woods right behind our house.  These deer are a constant in our lives.  We get to watch them and see the new fawns on an almost daily basis.  It is a beautiful sight to behold these creatures of nature and we get the pleasure of doing it right from the comfort of our own home.

We have also seen a red fox and a ground hog.  There is a horse stable on the other side of the woods.  Every so often we are greeted with the sight of people riding horses behind our house to get to the trail that leads into the woods.  The trail happens to be directly in line with our kitchen window.  I understand there is a pond back there too so when Shorty is old enough we can take him fishing.

Then there are the woods themselves.  It’s wonderful not to have another house directly behind us.  I’ve been lucky enough to have woods behind every home I’ve lived in.  At this time of year the trees put on the most amazing display of color.  While other people make the trek to New England to see the fall foliage I can watch it from my family room or kitchen.

Sunsets are another thing I get to experience daily.  In the summer I can sit in my family room and watch the sky cange colors as the sun fades and as fall sets in the sunset view can be seen from my living room windows or the front steps.  I love watching the sun set.

I can’t tell you how much fun it is to call Shorty to the windows to see the deer and the other animals.  My son literally has nature right in his own backyard.  I hope as he gets older he appreciates how lucky he is.  So many children don’t live in a place where they can see these sights.  So, today I am grateful to have God’s wonder right at my family’s doorstep.

This entry was posted in Children, Family, General, God, Nature, Pleasures, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Few Things To Be Grateful For

  1. faemom says:

    That’s really neat. The only wildlife we have are birds and the occasional rabbit, but that’s better than the occasional snake.

Leave a Reply

