The Things You Do For Love

So, today is our wedding anniversary.  Wanna know how I started the day?  Big signed us up to go to a John McCain rally.  (I warned you all before he’s a Republican.)  I had to get up at 5:00am to be able to get us all dressed, packed up, and there in plenty of time.  Nice, huh?  Awake before the crack of dawn on my anniversary.  All I can say is I must love this man, right?

I stood out in the freezing cold and I hadn’t even had a cup of coffee yet.  My child was not too pleased to be out there either.  We got there around 8:20am and the doors were supposed to open at 8:45.  They didn’t open until around 9:20.  I did have a nice conversation with the European gentleman who was behind us in line.  Apparently he is part of only seven percent of Europeans who support McCain.  When I asked him why that was (cuz I was truly wondering what was going on in the minds of other countries) he told me that most Europeans just don’t get the whole Republican agenda on abortion and guns plus they hate Bush and that hate is affecting their judgement for this election.  Good news for Obama supporters.  I guess it’s a good thing for Republicans that Europeans can’t vote in our election.

Finally by 9:40 we were indoors and warm at last.  Shorty wasn’t too thrilled to be stuck in the bleachers and poor Big had to stand and hold him a lot to keep him from having a meltdown.  Not exactly good for his aching back but I’m having my own pain issues at the moment and can’t hold Shorty for long periods of time.

Anyway, we heard from a former Massachusetts governor, Joe Lieberman, and Tom Ridge.  McCain was running way late but he did finally come out.  There were a few people holding “Democrats for McCain” signs.  I happened to be one of them.  (Please forgive me Obama fans.)  Most of the crowd seemed to be like Big: long-time Republicans.  McCain gave a good speech but didn’t really have anything new to say.  He ended with his “Stand up and fight” chant which had the crowd yelling in full force.

After the rally we grabbed a bite to eat.  Big and I are pretty exhausted and neither of us bought a gift for the other.  We’ve decided that we’ll make it up to each other another time.  I think Big was just happy I went along to the rally.

This is not the first time a Presidential election infringed upon our anniversary.  Four years ago election day was the same day as our anniversary.  We celebrated by going to the polls and negating each other’s vote.  We were still childless so we then went to a nice restaurant for dinner and asked to be seated within viewing range of the bar tv so we could see which of us was getting the ultimate anniversary gift.  Unfortunately, Big was the winner of the night.

So, my advice to all of you out there who may not be married yet.  Do not get married the first week in November or else you too could be sharing your day with the big election.  Then you may end up like me … showing your spouse how far you’ll go to prove you love them.

This entry was posted in Family, Husband, Love, news, Politics, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Things You Do For Love

  1. What an awesome wife. We went to the first McCain-Rally in Lancaster and it was exhausting but worth it just to say we did it.

    Have a great week!

  2. faemom says:

    You are such a sweet, wonderful wife. You deserve jewelry. My mother is in the same political boat you are in, but she would never give up her anniversary for a political rally of a Republican, whether she was voting for him or not.

Leave a Reply

