Alarming Reaction

Today I managed to scare the living daylights out of Shorty.  Not only did I scare him to death but I handled the situation wrong.  I feel horrible.  Here’s how it went down.

Big was out of town so I had our security alarm set.  I forgot to turn it off before going to the basement.  Shorty and I headed down there to play and once the motion detector picked me up the alarm sirens went off in full force.  Shorty, who was in front of me, started screaming in absolute fright.  So what did this mother do?  Did I pick up my screaming, terrified child?  Nope.  My first instinct was to make that noise stop.  So, I actually turned my back on my poor child and ran up the stairs to the keypad; all the while hearing Shorty scream and cry in fright and try to race up the stairs after me.

Once the alarm was off I turned around and ran back to Shorty who was already up the stairs.  I picked him up and he clung to me shaking for five minutes.  I tried to calm him and tell him everything was okay.  The alarm company called to make sure there was no danger and I told them that other than a frightened two year old we were fine.  Shorty would not let go of me.  I felt horrible.  I apologized for not turning the alarm off before we went to the basement and I apologized for running away from him.  Why, oh why, didn’t I pick my child up and take him with me to turn the damn alarm off?

Once I got him calmed down I then had to convince him it was safe to go back to the basement.  He followed me down but halfway down the steps he started crying again.  I had to go down first and prove to him that the noise would not happen again.  He came down but then clung to me again for another ten minutes.  For the rest of the time we were down there he never moved more than five feet from me.

When Big came home several hours later Shorty told him all about the alarm.  Big just looked at me and shook his head while I filled him in on the whole story.  This is not the first time I have set our alarm off and I’m sure it won’t be the last.  I just hope I don’t completely traumatize my child before he is old enough to understand that mommy is the dumb one who keeps making the sirens roar.  And next time I’ll know that even though it may be faster to get to the keypad without carrying Shorty I will carry him anyway so that he never feels like I am abandoning him.

Just call me Mother of the Year.  Sigh.

This entry was posted in Basement, Bonehead Moves, Children, Family, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Alarming Reaction

  1. faemom says:

    Don’t beat yourself up. You did your best. It’s not like you left your child locked in the basement (you didn’t right?). I promise you I’ve done dumber things. Besides that’s the last time you’ll do it, and before you know it Shorty will be tripping the alarm 🙂

  2. incognitomom says:

    Nope, I did not lock him in the basement. 🙂 But he is still having some issues about going down there and last night there was a commercial for Brinks Alarm on the tv and he freaked out. I’m hoping this is not one of those stupid issues that comes up in therapy later in his life. ;-p

Leave a Reply

