One Hundred

This is my 100th post.  I thought maybe it would be a good time to talk about what I get out of this whole blogging thing, why I do it, and what I’m hoping to achieve with it.

For me the decision to blog came slowly.  I had watched other friends and family do it and had already been a regular reader to some blogs.  I wanted to join the blogging community but wasn’t sure I really had anything to say or if I could write well enough to say anything of interest.  Then one day I realized I had no way of really keeping track of what I was feeling and the things that I was experiencing.  I had given up my diary a long time ago.  I also realized I had few people living close to me that I could pour my heart out to or who were experiencing a life similar to my own.

I’m not a techy person.  I barely use the old cell phone I have and don’t ask me to do anything fancy with it or a computer.  Fortunately, places like wordpress and some of the other blogging sites exist to make it easy for even those of us who are tech cripples to blog.  So this is where I began.  You’ll notice that there is still nothing fancy about my blog and I aim to rectify that one of these days soon but until then I just have to rely on my writing skills to entertain y’all.

So, back to this whole blogging thing.  I found that I really enjoyed being able to share my life via my blog.  That is until the day Big called me from work to tell me his co-workers found the blog and were talking about our life in the office.  Of course the post that was drawing the most gossip happened to be a very personal one.  I felt violated and pretty pissed off.  I shut down my original blog for a bit, renamed it, took out our real names, and changed hosting sites.  In this way I was able to continue writing in the manner I wanted to and still let Big have some privacy.  For me that has been the only down-side of this whole experience.

I never realized when I started this that I would make some of the blogging friends that I have or that it would provide a way for me to keep in better contact with an old friend who had moved across the country.  I love reading the blogs written by my favorite bloggers (most of whom are mom bloggers like me).  I also love the comments I get from my readers.  I’ve been able to connect with people who are dealing with some of the same things I am and I’ve received support and advice on issues that I’m dealing with.  I value these things as it lets us all know that we’re not alone.

I’m hoping that as I continue in the blogging world I can learn more and grow.  If I never become one of those uber-famous mom bloggers that’s okay.  I’m just enjoying the ability to reach others and meet new people.  I’m also enjoying writing.  I have found it to be cathartic and a way to help me work through some of the tough situations I’ve found myself in this past year.  I do hope to expand my blog and offer my readers more.  I want this so I can get to know those that I have reached better and so that I can reach more people and maybe give back to someone else the good things that I’ve gotten from this.

So, one hundred posts into this blogging journey and, you know what, I love it.  I love it enough that I’m willing to put myself out there in ways that I haven’t done in a long time.  I thank those that have made the trip with me so far.  Now let me get my brain and my fingers working on the next hundred posts.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Community, This and That. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One Hundred

  1. faemom says:

    Congratulations! I must say I enjoy reading your posts. And I totally sympathize with your wanting to stay annonymous.

  2. What a wonderful reflection! 🙂

  3. It’s very much about the community for me as well. And enjoying the writing, which was something I never liked doing before. Blogging is addicting in the best of ways I think. And for us moms, who are fairly isolated typically, I think it’s so incredibly important.

    Happy 100! You’ll be shocked at how quickly they accumulate:)

Leave a Reply

