Been MIA For A Long Time

So, I’ve been missing from the blog world for a long time.  I’ve been so busy with Christmas that I just didn’t have much time or, quite frankly, the energy to write.  But I have to tell you I’m so happy to be back.  I can’t wait to catch up on all the blogs that I normally read.  I’ve missed my blogging friends.

Christmas should be no excuse for me not to blog; however, once I finally got off my behind and got started with the holiday preparations I really threw myself into a frenzy of wrapping, decorating, baking, and shopping.  So, let me share with you some of the best moments of my time away from the blog.

Big had the week before Christmas week off and now he has this week off.  We’ve been spending time together as a family.  Shorty loves having his daddy home all the time.  So much so, that when Big went back to work for the three days before Christmas Shorty cried and told me that he didn’t want to stay home with mommy.  Now I was a little hurt by this but only for a moment.  For you see, while I was doing a lot of the Christmas errands and preparations Big and Shorty spent a lot of father-son time together.  It was good for both of them as they don’t get enough time when Big is working.  Shorty still loves me but he was excited about all the special time he got to spend with Big.

Christmas cards – Yeah, I know who likes doing Christmas cards right?  Well, for me it’s not the actual doing of the cards but the excitement of sending photo cards of my Shorty to all the friends and family who don’t get to see him much.  It’s also the excitement of receiving all those cards in the mail from our friends and family.  I love seeing the pictures and reading the messages written in the cards.

Taking Shorty to sit on Santa’s lap – Shorty understood most of the concept of Santa Claus this year.  So I am calling this Shorty’s first real Christmas.  It was fun taking him to sit on the big guy’s lap this year because he was excited about it.  The best laugh Big and I got from the whole experience was when we asked Shorty what he was going to tell Santa he wanted for Christmas.  Shorty’s answer, “Reindeer Poop.”  Fortunately, that is not what he said when he was on Santa’s lap.  But it would have been interesting explaining how in our family coal in the stocking is not the threat for being bad … reindeer poop is the threat and Shorty finds it hilarious.

Reindeer Dust – This is a tradition that started with my nephew when he was a toddler.  Shorty and I mixed oatmeal, sugar, and sprinkles together and made little bags of reindeer dust.  We then took bags to some of Shorty’s little neighborhood friends hoping to share our tradition.  After dinner on Christmas Eve our family went outside and spread the reindeer dust on the front lawn so Santa’s reindeer could find our house easier.  Shorty loved it and so did I.

Waking up on Christmas morning – We were all excited to see what Santa had left us.  Shorty loved his card that plays Jingle Bells.  He also loves his new Thomas train table and train sets.  Thanks to Santa for staying up late and putting everything together so perfectly.  Santa sure is proud of the layout he built and Shorty is having lots of fun with Thomas and friends.

Family – My parents, brother, and nephew came for Christmas dinner.  I love spending time with them.  I miss living close enough that I could hop in my car whenever I wanted and spend a few hours together.  So, now time together is even more special.  It also made my dad happy to hear his grandson run from upstairs yelling, “Oh, it’s Pop-Pop!”  What a change from the baby who would cry whenever he looked at my dad.  Thanks to my brother for helping us get rid of a good chunk of the seven dozen cookies I baked.  Who knew he liked peanut butter cookies so much?  Thank goodness or else I would be stuffing myself silly with all those cookies.

Grandparents bearing gifts – Once again my parents went overboard for Christmas even though we had begged them not to.  Shorty not only got a LeapFrog ClickStart and classic red radio flyer tricycle but he also got lots of cute clothes too.  And my mom, who is the best shopper and gift giver, got me my favorite perfume which I was out of and new make-up which I so desparately needed all from Estee Lauder.

And the last best part about Christmas – A “B” in science on my nephew’s mid-marking period progress report.  This is much improved from the “D” he got on his last report card.  Big and I are so happy because this is a child who can be and do so much more than life has offered him thus far.  We’re hoping he reaches for the stars and beyond to make a better life for himself and we’re willing to help him every step of the way.

I hope everyone out there had a great holiday.  Tell me your favorite Christmas moments.

I’ll add some pictures as soon as I download them off the camera.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Children, Family, Food, Fun, Holiday musings, Husband, Parenting, Pleasures, This and That, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Been MIA For A Long Time

  1. faemom says:

    That’s a lot of stuff going on! I’m glad you all had a great holiday! My husband took all of last week off because we traveled, and Evan begged him to stay home today. And Christmas is a huge excuse to not blog. From those who did, let me tell you, stats were way down because we all got busy. Glad to have you back!

Leave a Reply

