A Little Bookworm

Sometimes my kid rocks.  He can really make me laugh.  If there is one thing I did right in this whole parenting thing it’s foster a love of books and reading in him.  He is the type of kid who gets excited when new books arrive for him.  He will ask us to read his books over and over and he literally memorizes almost all of them word for darn word.  He’s got a whole freakin library in his head.  It’s amazing to hear him recite so many books from memory.  He does this all day and most of the time he doesn’t even have the books in front of him.  What I have noticed lately is that not only does he memorize the books but certain aspects of the stories are coming out in his play and storytelling.

Yesterday, he was playing grocery store.  I listened in and was chuckling to hear him say he was buying porridge and turnips.  Porridge and turnips?  Yep, not cookies.  Not fruit snacks.  You see, a certain three bears had their porridge eaten by a little girl named Goldilocks and a certain little pig outsmarted the Big, Bad Wolf and got the turnips for his dinner before the wolf could get him.  So, Shorty was shopping for porridge and turnips.

He also has begun mimicking a certain llama in a certain color pajamas.  You see the llama has started preschool and Shorty is quite taken with that story.  So now every time I run an errand without him, upon my return I am greeted with Shorty running to me screaming, “Mama Llama, you came back”!  And while at the playground today he was imitating scenes from the Llama playground.

I have always been a huge reader.  I still read when I can and wish I had time for more reading.  One of the best parts of mine and Shorty’s relationship is sharing books.  It makes my heart sing to have a child who seems to love books as much as I do.  I’m not always the most confident mommy but if there is one thing I feel I have done right it’s instilling this love of the written word in Shorty.  I love buying him new books as much as he loves getting them.

I can only hope that he never stops loving books, reading, and learning about new people, places, and things.  I’ve been waiting a lifetime to share my love of books with someone.  Growing up I had no close family members or friends who loved books as much as I did.  In fact, most people thought I was weird for choosing a book over going outdoors or partying.  No one wanted to enter a bookstore with me.  They knew it would be a long time before I would want to leave and few would repeat the experience after the first time.  I’m swooning over the fact that maybe, just maybe my very own child could be my bookworm soul mate.  How cool would that be!

This entry was posted in Book, Children, Fun, Learning, Motherhood, Parenting, Pleasures, Reading, Shorty, Storytelling. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Little Bookworm

  1. faemom says:

    That would be awesome! How adorable is he? Mama, Llama, you came back! That must just melt your heart. Seanny is trying to read all by himself, which amuses me to no end as the kid can barely talk for us to understand. Here’s to you and your little bookworm!

  2. Court says:

    How precious is that? You’ll have to tell me some tips sometime, mine is only two but I so want her to have a passion for reading. How great that he is really running with it! Good luck to you!

  3. Evenshine says:

    I can’t wait till my daughter can read on her own. She’s toting books around all the time, and I just know that reading will be a huge door-opener. My project for the summer!

Leave a Reply

