What I Learned This Week – 6/2/09

What I Learned This Week is hosted by Jo-Lynne at Musings of a Housewife.  Go check out her post for this week as well as the other What I Learned This Week entries.  If you feel so inclined you can join in the fun by linking your What I Learned This Week post to the bottom of Jo-Lynne’s post.

It’s been a busy week so I learned quite a few things.  Here they are for better or for worse:

1.  I learned that we have some of the best bloggers here in the Philly area.  I love these women because they are fun and generous, and they rock!  Thanks Jo-Lynne for organizing the Hebrew National Picnic With A Purpose.

2. Contractors whether they be plumbers, concrete, or window contractors are all pretty much annoying and don’t seem to get the job done in a timely fashion.  In fact, they can’t even seem to get quotes in when they say they will.

3.  Your child will pick the most inconvenient days to get sick.  Like when you want to take him to the blogging picnic to show him off and to teach him a little something about giving back to your community.  Yep, my child who rarely gets sick picked the day of the Picnic with a Purpose to get a slight fever, cough, and diarrhea.

4.  I’m not the only mommy blogger in my neighborhood.  Guess I’m not going to be so Incognito for long.  LOL  That’s fine with me though.  I’m only Incognito for Big’s sake anyway.

5.  I miss my family in Jersey.  Yeah, I know PA is not that far away but it’s far enough that I can’t see them as frequently as I’d like or be there for the little things like picking my nephew up from school just to spend a few hours with him here and there.  Or helping my mom take care of my grandmom.  Or frequently stopping in to visit my aunts and uncles who are all getting older and having some health issues.  I spent Memorial Day weekend with all of them and it hit home how much I’d love to be about an hour closer to them than I am.  And I really miss just being able to spend random time with my mom chatting and shopping like we used to do.

6.  I still love to hula hoop.  I loved it as a kid and I’ve been doing it a bit this last week and I still love it.  I’m also hoping that it helps get some pounds and inches off my waist.  Plus, it makes me feel like a kid again.

7.  Sunscreen in the eyes burns like heck.  This is supposed to be baby sunscreen for God’s sake!  Why would you make a product that burns like this?  I’m sitting here and my eyes are tearing and burning.  I imagine a baby or small child would be screaming in agony about now.  It’s inevitable that if you get wet (like from a sudden down pour minutes after applying it) that it’s going to somehow get in your eyes.  So, now I sit here and suffer all because today of all days I decided I wanted to protect myself from skin cancer.

8.   The people who make the Keurig coffee machine are evil.  First you pay a ridiculous price for the coffee machine, then you get hooked on the coffee, and next thing you know you’re paying crazy prices for the K-cups.  I bought one of these machines for Big’s birthday and now it’s the gift that keeps on giving (or is that taking? – as in money from our wallet).

I think that’s enough learning this week, don’t you?

This entry was posted in Carnival, Uncategorized, What I Learned This Week and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What I Learned This Week – 6/2/09

  1. Wendy says:

    Contractors have a completely different sense of time than the rest of the world. I just wish there was a way to interpret their time. Annoying, huh?

  2. faemom says:

    That is a lot to learn.
    #3 That’s my kid. Sick for Easter, sick for Christmas, sick for Halloween, sick for a birthday party he didn’t even know about in fear that it was the excitement.

    #6 I’m impressed. I can’t hula hoop. Not as a kid, definantly not now.

    • incognitomom says:

      Fae – you have to make sure you get a hoop that is big enough. I thought I had lost my hula hooping mojo because I tried this kid sized hoop one time and I couldn’t get it to stay up. Then I found the bigger hoops. Granted I’m not as good as I was when I was little but each day I’m getting better. It’s fun. Makes you feel kinda like you do on those rare moments when you swing on a swing – carefree and young again.

  3. Evenshine says:

    #8- We bought a $10 one from Target (not even sure which brand) and have had it for three years. And many a pot of great coffee. Ditch the Keurig.

    • incognitomom says:

      I have a $25 12 cup Mr. Coffee and a $20 five cup Black & Decker machine. I love both. The Keurig was actually purchased for my husband who is not usually a coffee drinker because he doesn’t want to be bothered with the grounds and all that junk. But he expressed a desire to be able to drink coffee and tea without the hassle. I had no idea what else to get him for his birthday because he has everything he needs within the budget range we like to spend for birthdays. I put my other pot away because I didn’t want the countertop cluttered with all those pots. (I use the five cupper normally and the 12 cup only comes out when my mother comes to visit or I am having guests. I drink decaf but mostly my guests need their caffeine, hence the reason for two machines.)

      So, now Big’s drinking about 6-10 cups of coffee or tea a day and I’m drinking my usual 2-3 cups. I’m waiting for the novelty to wear off or for him to realize how much we’re spending on the damn K-cups. But for now he’s enjoying it so I don’t want to rain on his parade. 😉

      • faemom says:

        See there’s your problem: Buying your husband kitchen appliances. I could have warned you. My husband requested a bread maker several years ago, which he has never used. But at least I do. He longed for a copper tea pot but ditched it in the cupboard when it started turning colors. We won’t even discuss the rice cooker and the blender, just now that at least I cook.

  4. Sarah says:

    Good coffee IS addicting.

    Again, GREAT to see you at the picnic. That was really fun. Glad you had a good time.

Leave a Reply

