Finally Moving My Butt

I’m doing something for me these days.  I have finally reached a point where I can’t stand the way I look.  Two weeks ago I got my hair cut and colored; something I should be doing way more often than I do.  This week I started using the elliptical that my husband bought eight years ago and uses religiously.  It’s been at least five years since I’ve done any sort of exercise.  My heart and muscles are in a state of shock at the moment that they are being asked to actually do something in the form of exercise.

The first night I got on the darn machine I almost died after only eight minutes.  Night two was only slightly better in that I pushed myself to go eleven minutes but I still felt like I would die.  I took two unplanned nights off but wasn’t going to let a third night escape without attempting to do some exercise.  I’m pleasantly surprised to say I did 18 minutes and when I was done I felt so much better than I did those first two nights.

I know those of you who actually exercise are laughing at me right now.  Eighteen minutes and she thinks she really accomplished something – hahahaha!  Well, dangit, I am proud of myself.  I’m hopelessly out of shape.  I know I’m not setting the world on fire but to me I feel so much better knowing that I am at least attempting to do something about the sorry state my body has gotten itself into.  With any luck this will be a starting point for a more active lifestyle that will result in a happier, more attractive me.

The best part is that I’m also less likely to do the late night snacking that helped put the extra 15-20 pounds on.  Exercising has made me slightly more mindful of what I am putting in my mouth.  If I’m lucky this increase in activity and less snacking will result in smaller clothing sizes in the future.  Now that would be something to celebrate.

This entry was posted in Exercise, Health, Me, Weight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finally Moving My Butt

  1. faemom says:

    Way to go! It’s perfectly fine to take baby steps. You don’t want to over do it and then never go back to it. It’s great that you’re doing something healthy for it. It’s so awesome.

Leave a Reply

