Children’s Names Meme

I have so many important posts rolling around in my head and in my drafts but things aren’t going well with them so I’ll take the easy way out and do this MEME I found while reading Jo-Lynne’s Musings of a Housewife blog.  Besides for those of you who don’t know, I am a baby name addict.  I’ve been reading baby name books since I was a little girl trying to name my Barbie’s and I spent years being a frequent reader and poster to those iVillage Baby Name boards (yep, I’m one of THOSE people).  So this MEME is perfect for a gal like me …

1.  Do you have any cultural or religious naming traditions?

I do not, but Big’s family does.  His family is Chinese and there is a very definite tradition in naming a Chinese child.  Names contain three parts.  The family name (or last name), the generational family name, and a third unique name.  Obviously, last names are used here in the U.S. so nothing changed in that respect other than that Chinese people say the last name first.  We chose to give our son (and will do so with any other children we may have) both an English middle name and a Chinese middle name.  Big’s mother chooses the Chinese name.  Our son’s Chinese middle name consists of two parts (or names).  The first part is the family generation name for our children’s generation.  The second part is a unique name that my mother-in-law chose.  All of our children will have the same first part.

2.  Did you or your partner come to the marriage with pre-selected names?

Big did not.  Being a name addict I had a few girl names that I really loved and wanted to use.

3.  Did you consider the sound of the first and middle and last names together?  Did this make any sad eliminations?

Are you kidding me?  I did mention that I am obsessive about names, right?  Because we have a rather unusual last name that sounds like a word in the English vocabulary there are a few names that we just can’t use.  Names like Kim and Ben are definitely out.  One syllable first names aren’t good either because our last name is only one syllable.  And I’m really struggling with the use of Emma even though Big and I both love it because when said with our last name it sounds like a strange sentence or question.  Also, names that begin with the ‘sh’ sound’ because it’s way too much alliteration for my taste.  And names that end in the ‘s’ or ‘sh’ sound because it runs right into the last name.  As you can see that takes a lot of names off the board.

4.  Did you have veto powers?

Of course, I had veto power.   So did Big.  Sadly, because I did most of the suggesting Big did most of the vetoing.

5.  Did the baby naming cause arguments?

Surprisingly, no.

6.  Do you think it is easier to name boys or girls?

Seeing as we never did really discuss or pick a name for a girl I don’t really know which would have been easier for Big and me.   I strongly suspect boys would be easier for us to name.  We’re more on the same page there.  He doesn’t like most of the girl names I suggest so I’m guessing if we have to name a girl there might be some issues.

7.  Did you eliminate names because of people from your past or present who you don’t like or because a certain image comes to mind?

No, exes.  The only other name Big vetoed was Matthew because he has a bad association.  Sadly, it’s a name we both like.

8.  Did you / would you survey your children to get their thoughts on the name?

Shorty is too little right now for that.  I have asked him about some names just to hear him say them in his cute little voice.  I might consider asking school-aged children their opinion only because they might have some better insight as to teasing potential of a name.  When I was pregnant with Shorty I did ask my nephew’s thoughts.

9.  Did you tell people the name or possible names before the baby was born or were they “in the vault”?

I can’t keep a secret for beans.  Or at least not naming secrets.  So yeah, we told people the names we considered.  But we didn’t listen to all the negative comments we received on all our name choices.  My grandmother in particular was brutally harsh.  She still doesn’t like our son’s name.

10.  Did you use baby name books?

Um, yeah.  And I went to baby name boards and got feedback there too.

Drumroll please … What did you name your kids?

HAHA!  Do you really think I can divulge that information?  Remember, the blog is called INCOGNITO MOM.  But here’s the rundown on how we came up with Shorty’s name:

Shorty’s first name means “son of” my husband’s first name.  It was our compromise to the whole Junior thing.  I’m half Italian and my family is plagued with tons of fathers, sons, and grandsons all with the same darn name.  I did not want another Junior.  So the “son of” name we chose honored my husband but allowed my son to have his own name.

I mentioned that Shorty had two middle names.  I told you about his Chinese middle name in question #1.  When translated it roughly means “to have magnificence”.  We joked and called Shorty the Magnificent one for a while.  Shorty also an English speaking middle name, which is the one we use on documents (other than his birth certificate which has both middle names).  I picked this middle name.  He has the same middle name as my brother.  It’s a name I helped my mom chose when my brother was born.  It was also a way to honor my side of the family since so much of Shorty’s name honors Big’s side.

If we have any other children I may try to carry on the tradition of making the English speaking middle name one that is a family name (from either Big’s side or mine).  And next time I want more say in the first name of my child.  I don’t dislike Shorty’s name but it was not my first choice.

So there you have it.

I’m not going to send out tags … if you want to play along consider yourself tagged … and let me know so I can read your kid’s naming story.

This entry was posted in Children, MEME, Names, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Children’s Names Meme

  1. lora says:

    ha ha! Ben does sound funny.

    although it would probably be a very descriptive name during those late nights for the first few months…

  2. Evenshine says:

    Hey IM- everything ok? Haven’t seen ya in a while…hope you and yours are well. Hugs!

  3. bookworm27 says:

    I’m addicted to baby names too! And I’m Italian as well. Found your blog off of Faemom’s blog, so I thought I would check it out.
    Have a good day.

Leave a Reply

